Elev8 Featured Video

 A Sikh is a follower of the religion called Sikhism, which is the fifth largest organized religion in the world. A Sikh is a disciple of the Guru Granth Sahibwhich is more than a Holy book for the Sikhs – It is their perpetual and living spiritual teacher and guide.

Read: What Is Ramadan?

Sikhism has ten human Gurus. The religion was founded by Guru Nanak, who was born in 1469 in the Punjab in a village which is now part of Pakistan. Guru Nanak was followed by nine successive human masters. The tenth master was Guru Gobind Singh. When he departed from earth, he proclaimed the Guru Granth Sahib the perpetual Guru of the Sikhs.

Sikhism was established by ten Gurus, human spiritual teachers or masters, over the period from 1469 to 1708 – that is over a period of 239 years. These teachers were enlightened souls whose main purpose in life was the spiritual and moral well-being of the masses. By setting an exceptional example of how to live a holy and worthy life through practicing righteous principles of living their human lives, they sort to awaken the higher consciousness in the human race. The Gurus taught the people of India and beyond, to live spiritually fulfilling lives with dignity, freedom and honour.

The summary of the main beliefs of a Sikh:

    • There is only one God for all the peoples of the world
    • All are equal before this one God
    • To respect all beings and to protect the weak.
    • To live by one’s honest labour and enterprise – Kirat Karni
    • To remember the gift of life from the Almighty and to rely on Him only
    • To engage in regular remembrance of God – Naam Japna and Simran
    • One must live the life of a householder – committed to Selfless service (Sewa) to the community
    • To shares one’s wealth with the needy – Wand ka Chakna
    • To be vigilant and defend one’s life from the evil internal forces – Lust (Kham), Anger (Krodh), Greed (Lobh), Attachment (Moh), and Ego (ahankar).
    • To promote positive qualities both personally and among the community. To embrace Sat (Truth); Daya (Compassion); Santokh (Contenment); Nimrata (Humility); and Pyare (Love) as positive qualities of life.

Like Elev8 On Facebook To Enrich Your Mind, Body & Soul!