Elev8 Featured Video

This weekend the 15th Annual Trumpet Awards will be held in Atlanta, GA.  The festivities will be hosted by the celebrity trio of  Nicey Nash , Boris Kodjoe and Nicole Ari Parker with special musical guests The O’Jays. 

Started in 1993, The Trumpet Awards pays homage to men and women who have significantly contributed to enhancing the quality of life for all…individuals and/or groups who have changed the richness of this great global society by partnering with the cause of justice and equality of all.

Spearheaded by Founder Xernona Clayton, a former Turner Broadcasting employee.  She created this platform to herald the accomplishments of Black Americans who have succeeded against immense odds. Special recognition is given to the few, who symbolize the many, who have overcome the ills of racism and poverty and achieved special greatness.

Radio ONE’s Alfred Liggins III is one of the prestigious honorees at this year’s tribute.

Here’s the complete list of all of the 2011 Trumpet Awards Honorees:

The Trumpet Awards will also induct 10  individuals into the Walk of Fame. They are:

Arthur Blank- Enterpreneur, Philanthropist

Bishop Barbara L. King- Minister/Civil Rights Activist

Mayor Carl Stokes- 1st Black Mayor

Henry “Hank” Thomas- Original Freedom Fighter

James Brown- Singer/Performer

Leon Hall- Civil Rights Activist

Congressman Louis Stokes- OH 1st Black Congressman

Marc H. Morial- CEO, National Urban League

Bishop Neil C. Ellis- Minister/Civil Rights Activist

Dr. Gerald L. Durley

The Trumpet Awards Show will air on TVONE , Sunday, April 24, 2011

2011 Trumpet Awards Special Musical Guests- The O’Jays

Related Article:

Is It Wrong to Want The Best Education For Your Kids?

Was Terry McMillan Hatin’ On Today’s Parenting?