Elev8 Featured Video

Selma, the first studio film to center around Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., is the big winner among the critics representing the African-American Film Critics Association (AAFCA). The Paramount film earned multiple awards from AAFCA for Best Director, (Ava DuVernay); Best Actor for Oyelowo and Best Song for its John Legend/Common theme song, “Glory”. AAFCA will hold its annual award ceremony and dinner on Wednesday, February 4, 2015 at 7:00pm the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood, CA.

“Our members found the output of cinema released this year to be a truly insightful mix of titles that reflect the world we live in. The members of AAFCA were especially pleased with this range of storytelling supported by the studios that gave voice to the many sides of the experience of black people in America and around the world,” says AAFCA president Gil Robertson. “We had a lot to pick from this year from Belle, Dear White People, Top Five, Timbuktu and Selma and hope the industry will continue to provide a platform for diversity on the big screen.”


The following is a complete list of 2014 AAFCA Awards winners.

Best Actor                               David Oyelowo, Selma (Paramount)

Best Actress                           Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Belle (Fox Searchlight)

Best Supporting Actress   Octavia Spencer, Black and White (Rela.)

Best Supporting Actor        Tyler Perry, Gone Girl (Fox) /J.K. Simmons, Whiplash (SPC)

Best World Cinema             Timbuktu (Les Films du Worso)

Breakout Performance      Tessa Thompson, Dear White People (RAtt.)

Best Director                           Ava Duvernay, Selma (Paramount)

Best Screenplay                     Gina Prince-Bythewood, Beyond the Lights (Rela)

Best Music                               John Legend/Common, “Glory” (Selma soundtrack)

Best Ensemble                      Get On Up (Universal)

Best Independent Film     Dear White People (Roadside Attractions)

Best Animation                     The Boxtrolls (Focus)

Best Documentary                Life Itself (Magnolia)


AAFCA Top Ten Films of 2014 are as follows in order of distinction:

  1. Selma
  2. The Imitation Game
  3. Theory of Everything
  4. Birdman
  5. 5. Belle
  6. 6. Top Five  
  7. Unbroken
  8. Dear White People
  9. Get On Up
  10. 10. Black and White

 As previously announced, AAFCA’s Special Achievement honors will be awarded to Universal Pictures, Chair, Donna Langley; LA Film Festival Director & Producer, Stephanie Allain and Blacklist Co-Founder, Franklin Leonard. Motion Picture & Television Producer Debra Martin-Chase will receive the organization’s Ashley Boone Award and Los Angeles Times Entertainment Reporter, Susan King will receive the group’s Roger Ebert Award.


Make sure to watch: