Leave a comment

http://elev8.com/tag/praise-diaries/

The Festival of Praise Tour 2014, featuring multiple GRAMMY®, Stellar and Dove Award-winning recording artists Fred Hammond and Donnie McClurkin, now kicks off on September 17 at Fallbrook Church in Houston. New dates have also been added  and you can read them below.

Fred Hammond took a moment from his busy schedule to chat about the upcoming tour.

E8: This tour is a pretty big undertaking. Why tour now with Donnie? What was the inspiration?

Fred Hammond: We try to tour every year. We want to keep the promotion of gospel tours alive and give the audience something to embrace and look to.  Tye Tribett was out on the road for the first half of the year and we are going to be on for this half. We are really looking forward to it.  We are going to be onstage together for the show. We’ll do songs together. Both of us will have a chance to sing our songs.

E8: How has the gospel industry changed?

Fred Hammond: Things are really different from when I started years ago. The whole business model has changed?  I think first how labels view gospel music has changed. When a label picked you up it was special. What label you were on determined a bit of what happened.  Now, there are just not enough outlets for people to showcase their art. We are really in a tough place.

E8: What do you mean?

Fred Hammond:  We have some radio. We can have some label attention, but labels need to think commerce business minded. There’s a sort of disconnect. That’s why putting together a tour like this one with Donnie is great.

E8: It’s a great guess you guys have a great synergy.

Fred Hammond: He’s a great guy. It’s going to be a really good show. (Laughs) We added more dates! We want to give our best. We want to show our gift. It’s such an honor to be able to do what we do.

E8: What are you looking forward to?

Fred Hammond: I’m Looking forward to  seeing everyone. ( Laughs) No, really. I looking forward to getting out there  and seeing people.  I am looking forward to going home to my home town of Detroit. I think both me and Donnie are looking forward to that.  We’re going to start together and we are going to end together!

Listen to Fred’s new song:

 Make sure that you read these great stories:

The national tour will be presented during Gospel Music Heritage Month and will be held at performing arts venues and mega churches across the country.

For additional information on the Festival of Praise Tour, please visit: www.festivalofpraisetour.com

Festival of Praise 2014 Tour

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Fallbrook Church

Houston, TX

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Verizon Theater

Dallas, TX

Friday, September 19, 2014

Music Hall

Kansas City, MO

Saturday, September 20, 2014

Friendly Temple Missionary Baptist Church

St. Louis, MO

Sunday, September 21, 2014

Minneapolis Convention Center

Minneapolis, MN

Monday, September 22, 2014

Cornerstone Family Church

Des Moines, IA

Thursday, September 25, 2014

Palace Theater

Columbus, OH

Friday, September 26, 2014

Cleveland State University

Cleveland, OH

Saturday, September 27, 2014

Detroit Opera House

Detroit, MI

Sunday, September 28, 2014

Horseshoe Chicago Casino

Chicago, IL

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Palace Theater

Albany, NY

Friday, October 3, 2014

New Jersey Performing Arts Center

Newark, NJ

Saturday, October 4, 2014

Westchester County Center

White Plains, NY

Sunday, October 5, 2014

Modell Performing Arts Center at the Lyric

Baltimore, MD

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

North Charleston Performing Arts Center

Charleston, SC

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Evangel Cathedral Church

Upper Marlboro MD

Friday, October 10, 2014

Hampton Coliseum

Hampton, VA

Saturday, October 11, 2014

Ovens Auditorium

Charlotte, NC

Sunday, October 12, 2014

South Carolina State Fair Grandstand

Columbia, SC

Monday, October 13, 2014

Cathedral of the Cross AOH Church of God

Birmingham, AL

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Harborside Event Center

Fort Myers, FL

Thursday, October 16, 2014

USF Sun Dome

Tampa, FL

Friday, October 17, 2014

CFE Arena

Orlando, FL

Saturday, October 18, 2014

James L. Knight Center

Miami, FL

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Beulahland Bible Church

Macon, GA

Friday, October 24, 2014

James Brown Arena

Augusta, GA

Saturday, October 25, 2014

Cobb Energy Performing Arts Center

Atlanta, GA

Sunday, October 26, 2014

Corbett Sports Center A&T University

Greensboro, NC

Also On Elev8:
comments – add yours
×